Log 4: Job

11/02/17, SINGAPORE

Find a job you like and you add five days to every week

So I finally found a job after the long search. In Singapore there are many job opportunities however, finding the right job for you still creates a challenge. One big difference between jobs in New Zealand and jobs in Singapore is the pay. There is no minimum wage in Singapore. After working part time in New Zealand for about two years I’m used to the approximate pay of at least $15 per hour. Here in Singapore I have to get used to getting a pay of around $6-$10. The difference is quite drastic.

I found a job as a waitress at the Swensen branch at Seletar mall. Swensen is a global chain of ice cream restaurants which originally started in California. Apparently Swensen is very popular in Singapore which is great for me because I’m there to get to know the culture and Singapore itself. It will be a great experience interacting with locals and it is also the first time for me working in the food and beverage industry. I start on Tuesday and I’m extremely excited.

If anyone has any tips on being a waiter/waitress please leave a comment, I would love to know!

Jo Love, Out.

 

Leave a Reply

